• Krantz, Maravelias Win Timed Event

    Lance Harvey congratulates Taryn Krantz, winner of the Girls Timed Event Challenge held March 1-2 in Farmington, Calif. Click for full story...


  • WSTR Qualifier in Tulare, CA

    Winners of the #9 Pick & Draw roping at the WSTR Qualifier held March 1 in Tulare, Calif., were Mark Scobie (l) and Steve Hatcher. Click for full story...

  • 'Joes Little Fool' is High Seller

    "Joes Little Fool" was the high selling horse at the Hershberger Performance Sale held Feb. 15 in Litchfield Park, Ariz. Click for full story...

  • RodeoHouston Crowns 2014 Champs

    Erich Rogers and Corey Petska were a speedy 4.2 seconds in their RodeoHouston BP Super Series Team Roping run. Each roper won $50,000 for that run and all told they split $114,500 for the whole RodeoHouston run. Click for full story...

  • Run2Win Round-Up Barrel Race

    Makaela Memmett on "Cash Gato Boogie" won the Open 1D on Saturday and Sunday at the Red Bluff Run2Win barrel race. Click for full story...

  • Ropes Galore Customer Appreciation Roping

    Open average winners Beau Hutchinson (l) and Ed Necochea (r), pictured with Jimmy Pfeffer of Ropes Galore. Click for full story...

AQHA Horses Of The Year


A pair of former winners were honored again Oct. 2 when Cody Ohl’s horse, Big Smokin Wonder (Pearl), was named 2013 AQHA/PRCA Horse of the Year in tie-down roping and Dan Fisher’s steer roping horse, Larneds Ricoche Doc (Woody), shared the honor with Scott Snedecor’s Olee Roberto (Major).

Woody shared the award in 2008 and won it outright in 2009. Pearl was also honored in 2009.

Ohl gave credit to Pearl for his win at the Justin Boots Championships in Omaha, Neb., last weekend.

“My little mare, Pearl, was sensational,” he said.

Ohl said he’s had “a phenomenal” three months and that Pearl is “probably 75 percent of it.” On July 1, Ohl was 35th in the world standings with $14,610. He was third in the Oct. 1 final regular-season world standings with $94,943.

Wade Sumpter’s horse, Speedy Faila (Two Guns), was named top performer in steer wrestling. Sumpter has had three of the last four awards for steer wrestling Horse of the Year come from his trailer, as Wick earned the honor in 2010-11.

The complete list:

Team Roping-Heading 

1. Lucy’s Fast Jewel (Jewel), owner Brandon Beers. 2. Hickory Quick Bar (Patron), owners Chuck and Charly Crawford. 3 (tie). Woody Oar Not (Woody), owner T.J. Davis Ranch. Rappers Ruff Stuff (Rudy) owner Arky Rogers.

Team Roping-Heeling

1. CD Starbucks (Starbucks), owner Ryan Motes. 2 (tie) Rey Shines On Top (Rey), owner Brady Minor. Sunday Night Bingo (Amigo), owners Patrick and Christy Smith 

Tie-down Roping

1. Big Smokin Wonder (Pearl), owner Sid Miller. 2. Okies Interception (Muenster), owner Mark Thiel. 3. Big Smokin Otoe (Topaz), owner Circle Star Land & Cattle. 

Steer Roping

1. Larneds Ricoche Doc (Woody), owner Dan Fisher.  Olee Roberto (Major), owner Thomas Snedecor. 3. HK Bossy Blue (The Hulk), owner The H K Ranch

Steer Wrestling

1. Speedy Faila (Two Guns), owners Wade Sumpter and Chris Morrow. 2. French Wonder (Ote), owners James and Savanah Reeves. 3. Landrys Cadillac (Cadillac), owner Frank Sterling Wallace. 

Barrel Racing

1. Flos Heiress (Babyflo), owner Dian Taylor. 2. Slick by Design (Slick), owners Charlie Cole and Jason Martin. 3. Perculatin (Latte), owner Walker & Cogburn LLC.


Classic Ropes




Bob Feist Invitational

Fast Back Ropes

Broc Cresta Memorial Roping

Jim Pickens Roping

California Shoot Outs - Priefert World Series