By Tracey Scott
Special To Ropers Sports News

BISHOP, CALIF. – The 2015 California High School State Finals had record breaking attendance that included many tourists from other countries to see their first ever American rodeo. And they were not disappointed as many events came down to the last ride, the last run and the last loop to decide the 2015 Champions.

Bishop is always more than accommodating and receptive to the California High School Rodeo families and members. This being the 11th year of hosting at the Eastern Sierra Tri County fairgrounds was no different. Sponsors, both local and statewide were also on board for a spectacular week.

Yes, we saw days of 100 degree weather, but days at the river, poolside afternoons and a huge waterslide helped relieve the heat. In the arenas the contestants had no problems at all. There were spectacular bronc rides, and roping all week and the ground just got faster and faster for poles and barrels. The 2015 All Around Champions, Taylor Rivera, District 7 and Cody Moody, District 6 were crowned and awarded new two horse trailers. We also awarded the first ever Reined Cow Horse champion as well, Wyatt Fisher. The District team champions were District 7 and our new Miss CHSRA is Gracie Pachie of District 2.

So many local and CHSRA volunteers make this week a success and there is no way to list them all. Our gratitude is immeasurable to those who work tirelessly all year to get the next generation of cowboys and cowgirls started off right.

Thank you to the CHSRA State Finals sponsors, Les Schwab, Cactus Saddlery, Cactus Ropes, Cactus Gear, Resistol Hats (they gave every National team member a hat) Heel-O-Matic, Platinum Performance. Ropers Sports News and Hesston. 

Trailer sponsors: City of Bishop, Paiute Palace Casino, Alpers family Eastern Sierra Community Bank, Thomas Petroleum, Steves, Auto, Coso Operating Company, County of Inyo, Bishop Creek Chevron, Symons Ambulance Service,

Buckle sponsors: Tom’s Place Restaurant and Resort, Jess McMurtrie, Western Roofing, Chuck and Mary Mae Kilpatrick, Bill and Marilyn Carter and family, Mesa Storage and Mike Kelley family, Bud and Jerri Moody and family, Jim and Donna Tatum, Gist Buckles, John and Nancy McMurtrie family, Wayne and Vasie Tex and family, Dick and Dianne Schalberg, Bishop Lions Club, Rock Creek Pack Outfit, Dr. Craig London DVM, amd Mrs. Carmon London

Memorial buckle sponsors: Bud Cashbaugh Memorial sponsored by Jim Cashbaugh, Slim Tatum Memorial, sponsored by S. T. Ranch, Tatum family, Tracy Webster Memorial, sponsored by the Danny Webster family, Garrett Spoonhunter, sponsored by Allan Garage and Mike and Michele Allen, Leroy McKellips Memorial sponsored by the Bardonnex family, El Ranchito Restaurant and Rick and Mary Pucci.

Chute sign sponsors, Allen Outdoor, McDonalds, KIBS Radio Station, Bishop Veterinarian, Inyo Mono Body Shop.

National qualifiers:

All Around Cowgirl: Taylor Rivera. All Around Cowboy: Cody Moody. Miss CHSRA 2014-15: Gracie Pachie. Team Champions: District 7.

TIE DOWN ROPING: 1. Clayton Bacon, D1. 2. Kolby Bravos, D1. 3. Brushton Minton, D1. 4. Caden Farquer, D5. STEER WRESTLING: 1. Jacob Bairos, D5. 2. Tanner James, D6. 3. Tyler Muth, D8. 4. Brushton Minton, D1. SADDLE BRONC: 1. Will Centoni, D4. 2. Cody Moody, D6. 3. Mason Mardesich, D3. 4. Brant Grisedale, D6. BAREBACK RIDING: 1. Jonathan Siller, D3. 2. Karson Montijo, D6. 3. Zachary Hanko, D5. 4. Wade Loucks, D5. TEAM ROPING: 1. Zach Varian and Cayden Cox, D7. 2. Caden Clay and Chance Ruffoni, D7. 3. Travis Kent and Rylie Amarant, D5. 4. Blair Brown and Dawson Bell, D4. BULL RIDING: 1. Warren Enz, D4. 2. Jake Peterson, D5. 3. Levi Gray, D1. 4. Bodie Vaughan, D1. BOYS CUTTING: 1. Lefty Holman, D6. 2. Riley Bishop, D4. 3. Trevor Granlees, D3. 4/5. Chase Hayhurst, D6. Chase Alvernaz, D1. BARREL RACING: 1. Mia Prichard, D4. 2. Kayla Inderbieten, D9. 3. Caitlyn Wood, D4. 4/5. Sarah Nance, D7. Bailey Danylo, D8. BREAKAWAY ROPING: 1. Kassidi Hofman, D5. 2. Sarah Nance, D7. 3. Brittany Dias, D6. 4. Jessi Burdett, D8. GOAT TYING: 1. Molly Sparrowk, D3. 2. Taylor Rivera, D7. 3. Jessi Burdett, D8. 4. Cassidy Barnes, D8. POLE BENDING: 1. Haydn Morsa, D1. 2. Kathryn Varian, D7. 3. Emily Mangione, D6. 4. Karlee Porter, D9. GIRLS CUTTING: 1. Meghann McNulty, D7. 2. Kaylee Silverberg, D4. 3. Sage Massey, D7. 4. Molly Sparrowk, D3.


Add comment

Security code